Mail icon grey 25px.png
FB grey 25px.png
YT grey 25px.png
vimeo grey 25px.png
TJ trans col small.png
This piece started off as an orchestration exercise of one of the eight small preludes and fugues, which may or may not actually have been composed by J.S. Bach. After an experiment in reimaging the organ sounds of the original through the timbres of multiple wind instruments, I found myself branching out in the fugue, as the possibilities of many more lines and thicker textures became irresistible. There is a certain amount of homage to Stravinsky as the piece builds, and I used collage techniques to create a joyously raucous coda – BOOM. !
The original Bach (?) material can still be heard but it is smeared and overlaid and compacted and stretched... it was a liberating experience to throw notes at the paper in this way, and I hope the fun I had is evident in the result.
List of works
BWV 555 Boom
Industrial Landscape I
Remote Location I
Morning Music
Green Man
Waxing Crescent
Waning Crescent
St Anthony’s Sermon to the Fish
Crop Circle
Foenix Occidit
Three Northumbrian Folk Tunes
© 2015 Tom James, Tom Owen, Jenny Jackson & Chris Noble.
BWV 555 Boom