Mail icon grey 25px.png
FB grey 25px.png
YT grey 25px.png
vimeo grey 25px.png
TJ trans col small.png
Oboe / Cor Anglais, Alto Flute / Bass Flute, Clarinet in Eb / Alto Clarinet in Eb, Clarinet in Bb / Bass Clarinet (with extension to low C), Violin Viola, Violoncello, Contrabass.
Foenix occidit is based on the motet Ergone conticuit, attributed to Johannes Lupi (1506-1539). The original text was by Erasmus of Rotterdam (1469-1536) and was written in memory of Johannes Ockeghem (1410-1497).
Lupi's work is in two sections, which I have transcribed for wind instruments. The string parts form a modern commentary on the Renaissance music, slowly warping and transforming the material, leading to the central (original) section of the work.
Score and clip open in new windows.
List of works
BWV 555 Boom
Industrial Landscape I
Remote Location I
Morning Music
Green Man
Waxing Crescent
Waning Crescent
St Anthony’s Sermon to the Fish
Crop Circle
Foenix Occidit
Three Northumbrian Folk Tunes
© 2015 Tom James, Tom Owen, Jenny Jackson & Chris Noble.
Foenix Occidit